Phoenix Comicon 2010

Phoenix Comicon was a fantastic experience for me. The panels I attended were humorous and informative. The guests were very gracious and seemed genuinely happy to be there. The attendees were fabulous too. There were the usual occurrences of bad costumes, personal space issues, and as John Scalzi said the “funk” came out on Friday. These things are to be expected, and despite them everyone was really nice and a joy to be around. It’s not very often that you can strike up conversations with random people and become weekend long friends. The staff and volunteers had an Olympic sized event to manage and did a magnificent job. They get a +10 to awesome just for signing up. There may have been a few disappointments this weekend, but everything else made my life. I had such a great time that I can’t imagine not going next year. If you did not attend I hope you can share my excitement and satisfaction by reading this.


*note: In most of the quotes I’m paraphrasing. What is written is what I remember after the fact, except for a few panels that have recorded versions online.


Day One: Thursday, May 27th Preview Day


The first day of the Con was amazing. I volunteered at the registration desk from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. This was probably not the best decision for my first time volunteering. I picked that shift because of the opportunity to see all the hardcore fans that were coming for the entire weekend. And maybe get a glimpse of some exhibitors and guests as they arrived.


I got there about 20 minutes late, and arrived at my post halfway through the explanation of what we were going to do. ACK! I made a face that clearly said,”Please help me out here!” A wonderful woman named Peggy (I think. Sorry, I’m awful with names) took me under her wing and gave me the run-down. She and I decided to go to the prepaid registration desk because there was no money involved, all that needed to be done was check in people who already paid. The pre-registration team was Peggy, Robert, Walt, a girl with a pretty gemstone name (Again, I apologize) and myself. The staff hadn’t given us anything to do before the doors opened so we took the initiative to separate plastic badge holders and attach them to lanyards. Everyone was very friendly and conversed about various things while doing our monkey work. This was the calm before the storm.


About a half an hour before the doors opened the staff brought us this huge printed list. It was almost 400 pages of names. We were instructed to check the attendees’ registration confirmation or I.D. against the list and hand them a badge. At this point I didn’t see any problem with this process. Not that many people would show up for Preview Day, right? WRONG. Five volunteers who don’t really know what they are doing are supposed to check in hundreds of attendees who may or may not have printed out the confirmation they were told to bring. This was the first facepalm moment. The attendees ended up being fantastic. They showed me that standing in long lines out in the Arizona heat doesn’t have to turn everyone into a dick. Even though there were some sticky points, no one I dealt with got upset. They were all happy and excited to be there. Because of the attendees I will probably volunteer again next year. Here’s hoping that it’s more organized.


When my shift at the registration desk was over I went to check out the exhibitor hall. It was MASSIVE! Forty-eight thousand square feet of merchandise meant to make nerds drool. I’m glad I got a look on Thursday when it wasn’t packed full of bodies. I navigated my way over to John Scalzi’s table to have him sign my slew of books. We chatted a bit while he signed.

“I work at a bookstore and your books are about half of my suggestion endcap,” I shyly remarked. He smiled and said,

“To Lorien – Who is now my totally favorite person!” as he wrote it in my copy of An Android’s Dream. I was doing a little dance inside. I expressed excitement about attending his panels over the next few days. I told him I forgot to bring one of my books so I would have to see him again later and I headed over to Wil Wheaton’s table.

As I stepped up I made a Legend of Zelda victory noise in my head for not tripping or dropping anything on the way over. I asked him to sign Just a Geek, his foreword in Scalzi’s Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded, and Season 3 of The Guild. When I spelled my name for him he said,

“Lorien, like Lothlorien? That’s a cool name.” Insert silent squee from me here.


“Thanks! My last name is Krueger, so my parents had to give me a cool first name to offset a really bad last name.”

I told him I was really looking forward to RockBand on Friday and said goodbye. I had two great interactions, one after the other. I’m surprised I didn’t squee all over both of them. I walked the rest of hall in a daze, seeing what the exhibitors had on display. There was a lot of really cool stuff, especially the framed comic book art and Steamcrow’s booth. I resisted buying a lot of things, but ironically lost a save versus shiny on some d20 earrings. What roleplaying chick could pass those up?


It was only day one and I was already exhausted. I decided to head home early to get some rest for the next day. Wil Wheaton RockBand on Friday was sure to keep me up late.


Day One of Comicon was full of EPIC WIN. And little did I know this was just the beginning.

~ by booknerdgirl on June 3, 2010.

One Response to “Phoenix Comicon 2010”

  1. Very good first post. Keep up the good blogging! Can’t wait to hear all about day too

Leave a Reply

 
